ICH SEH DAS SO. ICH SEH DAS SO.: Inspiration: We are no Journalists.
 

13
Jan
2012

Inspiration: We are no Journalists.

Standardwert-2012-01-13-um-17-26-45
Photo: Fabian Sixtus Körner

A >>while ago<< I introduced you to world traveler and post modern journeyman >>Fabian Sixtus Körner<<. Though I never met him in person, I follow his travels and stories and feel a strong empathy for what he is doing and how he is doing it.

Today I looked through his stories again and found a >>blogpost<< he wrote while in Cuba. Though I admire his photos and the portrait- and interview-project he did there, I understand his worries publishing the work, possibly bringing the people involved into terrible trouble.

Throughout my journeys, I have heard plenty of criticism against governments and regimes, talked to people desperate or drunk and listened to their sometimes passionate, sometimes desperate stories. The reason I never published them is that I feel uncomfortable putting something they shared personally with me into public. I'm not sure if this is the right thing to do or if it is paranoid, and I'm wondering if it would be smart or not to do it.

What do you think? And Fabian - are you publishing it, or no? Did the people know what they were doing? And do you think they'll let you travel into Cuba again?


Fabian (guest) - Fri Jan 13, 18:16

Thanks Careaux...

...for picking up that subject. As I mentioned before, I don't consider myself as a journalist or a documentary photographer with political background. I propably knew better if I was.

We will definitely publish something in conjunction to the exhibition of Daniel Castro's Portraits. I might edit the video in a way that noone will be able to retrace whose face belongs to which statement also because not all the statements are negative. The audio interviews will be disconnected to the video and are coming from the off while showing random behind the scene footage or more of a city atmosphere scenery.

The people we interviewed knew about it. But what does that mean? They don't know youtube or facebook and can't measure the power of such tools. Tools to make it easy for the authorities to trace everything back to them. Whatever we publish online we'll make sure that there's no evidence of criticism to a single person.

I think it should be possible to still produce something equally good.

Of course I can enter Cuba and I might not be in danger of being arrested. We'll see how big the impact of the exhibition will be. I make my decision afterwards if I return or if I don't. But to be honest, I kinda have the feeling that things will change soon. Raul Castro doesn't have the personality of his brother to do something that crazy for so long without getting more trouble from his folks.

careaux - Fri Jan 13, 18:25

Thanks Fabian!

I think it's a good idea to put statements without bringing people in trouble for it. I kind of expected it this way but wasn't sure. Love your journey. When do you return? Or will you stay on the road for a lifetime?
Fabian (guest) - Fri Jan 13, 18:33

I will soon get a ticket down to south america, last continent I want to work at. After that I'll be coming to Berlin to process the whole trip into exhibitions, lectures and a book. That's the plan so far. At around march I'll be back for good...for a while!
careaux - Sat Jan 14, 12:10

Cool.

Sounds good. Let me know when you are in B. for coffee and stories to share.

BUY PRINTS.
Events.
Exhibitons.
Featured.
Headshots.
Inspirations.
iPhone Diaries.
Macedonia.
Mama Content
Mini-Me.
Morocco.
Nepal.
New York.
Norway.
On the run.
People.
... more
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog