ICH SEH DAS SO. ICH SEH DAS SO.: Vienna in Words: Day 3.
 

4
Aug
2011

Vienna in Words: Day 3.

Time began running and before I really arrived in Vienna, I was almost gone again. Thursday was my photo day and I walked through the whole city. It didn't even rain that much.

Philip recommended me Brunnenmarkt and I decided to use it as a starting point. After I explored the market in the rain (yes, not as much market as one would think), I followed the most interesting crowd leaving the market - east on Thaliastraße. I found a little haberdashery shop, chatted with the owner, followed around pigeons, bought a fantastic leather bag for 2 Euros in a thriftstore, talked to an ex-Berliner fighting against nuclear plants and ended up at Ottakring, from where I took the Ubahn to Volkstheater to have a look at Museumsquartier and it's spectators. Here, I could finally use a bathroom. Nothing else really stroke me here - since I didn't want to spend the day inside of a museum and outside it rained, so people ran away.

I took off and took a train to Simmering, where Eva had promised me interesting street scenes. I stayed around Simmeringer Hauptstraße for a while, taking the tramway back and forth and watching people doing business as usual.

I walked to Zentralfriedhof, skipped the famous graves but only enjoyed a few spots of sun on the old jewish partition. My feed hurt so bad I couldn't walk any further, so I took the tramway back and went home.

Philip had left that day for a job in Munich, so I met with Eva, we ate all remainers of the bolognese and then had a few Weiße Spritzer at a bar close by.

I never slept that night, as when I came back around 1:30am, I realized there's no point to sleep if I had to be at the airport at 4:30am. So I spent a whole night updating the blog, editing photos, printing tickets and packing. Then I left before dawn to the airport, heading for my next destination: Barcelona.

This trip was way too short and thus doesn't seem representative. As my emotions were aimed more on my friends here, I never found the vibe and flow with Vienna.

Anyway people here treated me with warmth and respect (against all odds of German accents). Maybe Vienna was too "familiar" to really strike me and I didn't have time to start recognizing, to start combining and finding my own places to explore, but it felt like home, quite unpretentious, and it's definately a place to return. Next time, I will stay for a week or so. And I'll actually spent time on getting recommendations before I go.

Baba, Wien, ich komme wieder.

Carolin Weinkopf, Austria, Vienna
Thalia Straße.

Carolin Weinkopf, Austria, Vienna
Yves Saint Laurent.

Carolin Weinkopf, Austria, Vienna
Wiener Fenster.

Carolin Weinkopf, Austria, Vienna
Locksmith waiting for customers.

Carolin Weinkopf, Austria, Vienna
The best Schnitzel in town.

Carolin Weinkopf, Austria, Vienna
Old lady at Ottakring.

Carolin Weinkopf, Austria, Vienna
Waiting.

Carolin Weinkopf, Austria, Vienna
Observation at Ottakring.

Carolin Weinkopf, Austria, Vienna
From Museumsquartier.

Carolin Weinkopf, Austria, Vienna
People waiting for the Ubahn at Volkstheater.

Carolin Weinkopf, Austria, Vienna
Trains shake in Austria.

Carolin Weinkopf, Austria, Vienna
Fresh vegetables sold at Simmering.

Carolin Weinkopf, Austria, Vienna
Wiener and his hat at Simmering.

Carolin Weinkopf, Austria, Vienna
Mother and son.

Carolin Weinkopf, Austria, Vienna
Simmering.

Carolin Weinkopf, Austria, Vienna
Zentralfriedhof.

Carolin Weinkopf, Austria, Vienna
At Handelskai on my way home.

All photos: Carolin Weinkopf



BUY PRINTS.
Events.
Exhibitons.
Featured.
Headshots.
Inspirations.
iPhone Diaries.
Macedonia.
Mama Content
Mini-Me.
Morocco.
Nepal.
New York.
Norway.
On the run.
People.
... more
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog