ICH SEH DAS SO. ICH SEH DAS SO.: Israel: Jerusalem.
 

23
Apr
2012

Israel: Jerusalem.

After I collected my dad, my sister and a rental car at Tel Aviv airport, I showed them my hotspots in the city, we had smoothies and Shawarma in Old Jaffa at dusk and then took off to Jerusalem. It took us ages to find that damn hotel, who would have known that all of Jerusalem's streets are one-way and that maps don't help? Anyway, we were the first guests in a freshly renovated room at Jerusalem Inn (so fresh, indeed, we neither had a mirror, nor anything to put any clothes on...).

So, during the next two days, I explored Jerusalem - and have to say it wasn't really my place to be. I found the architecture to be super boring compared to Tel Aviv and walking and strolling aimlessly around the city was really only half the fun. All the religious sides didn't really strike me due to my lack of religious passion I have to admit. The masses of tourists scared me to death and the "nice" yet quite agressive sale's attitude of the people on the markets and souks reminded me of my worst days in Morocco last year.

Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
In the Old Town of Jerusalem.

Jerusalem's highlights were probably the little secret insider tour that a friend of a friend gave me in the old city (not due to what he actually showed me, but the amazing stories he knew to tell along...), the Western Wall, actually impressing, though I found the forced seperation between women and men quite irritating, and the pasta party held by the marathon organizers the night before my dad and sister ran the half marathon over the countless hills of Jerusalem. They served us all kinds of pasta and rice, with all kinds of desserts and teas and coffees and juices. I really enjoyed :).

Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
At the Western Wall.

Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Strolling around Jerusalem during the Marathon.

I was actually most excited when we finally wrapped our stuff and left East, observing a crazy high, concrete wall on the side of the street, entering the Westbank towards the Dead Sea and leaving it again for the Israeli shore. We had a blast getting soaked in mudd and floating around like crazy people, though I have to say, the Israeli beach we went to was only half the fun of Khalia Beach in the West Bank where I had been earlier, by myself.

Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
A big, scary wall. East Jerusalem.

Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Posing in the desert.

Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
By and in the Dead Sea.

We had delicious food in Jericho, strolled the market (a great example that people can be good sellers without getting super annoying and following and touching you, yes!) and went North towards the Sea of Galilee, having to cross a very intimidating Israeli check point, getting all of us, our luggage and the rental car completely frisked.

Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank
In the Westbank.

The Sea of Galilee, mainly due to Shabbat, was honestly, highly unspectacular, but the drive there must have been one of the most beautiful ever, oscillating between desert, hills, bustling green, seas of blossoms...

That night, we made it back to Tel Aviv, had some amazing Falafel in a sidestreet and I took a long walk with my dad: good conversation passing by beautiful architecture.

It's my dad's birthday today, and this post is just for him ♥.

Carolin Weinkopf, Jerusalem, Israel, Dead Sea, Westbank

All photos: Carolin Weinkopf

Nowhere Fast (guest) - Sun Nov 18, 22:17

Great work and views

Hey, I only just stumbled over your blog and am now chronologically browsing through your travel reports - it's really a wonderful way to find inspiration and get impressions of countries I'd never have the chance (and guts) to travel to. And I gotta say that I especially appreciate your sense for gender equality, popping up in this post (or earlier in the morocco one) - it needs a lot of courage and farsightedness to point out such issues imo. Keep up your great work and views!

careaux - Sun Nov 18, 22:24

Thank you!

I never try to make things look better than they are but I am a really optimistic and rather positive person, so I usually don't expect issues like this and might ignore them once or twice... but Rabat (and Jerusalem Old City aswell) were actually quite bad. Thank you for your kind words and keep on scrolling!

BUY PRINTS.
Events.
Exhibitons.
Featured.
Headshots.
Inspirations.
iPhone Diaries.
Macedonia.
Mama Content
Mini-Me.
Morocco.
Nepal.
New York.
Norway.
On the run.
People.
... more
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog