ICH SEH DAS SO. ICH SEH DAS SO.: Israel: Arrival.
 

24
Mar
2012

Israel: Arrival.

I was well prepared and knew what could happen when getting to the airport. I actually didn't think it would. But it did. Arriving in Schönefeld in front of El Al counters, I got questioned for 60 minutes and searched for 30 minutes. I had to show my couchsurfing confirmation, all booked hotels, emails I had sent to my family concerning the trip, facebook, my website and blog to prove that I was really a photographer and that I was not part of a terrorist organization... Everyone was really nice and kind, but I do think that this procedure is a bit over the top (...and I didn't know yet that it would be beaten by far on my way back).

(Not to mention it did not happen neither to my sister nor my dad, though they have similar travel histories and were both also traveling by themselves).

Carolin Weinkopf, Israel, Purim, Tel Aviv
People waiting at the gate at Schönefeld Airport.

Anway, the flight was nice (except of the quite crazy Jesus-lives-lady sitting next to me on the plane, trying to convince me to join her Christian sect after I denied to be Jewish) and we arrived whole and save at Ben Gurion Airport. Took a train from there, walked a lovely 20 minute walk through southeastern Tel Aviv and reached the beautiful home of my hosts behind a mandarine tree. I spent the evening eating falafel and crisscrossing Tel Aviv by foot, observing drunken Tel Avivians walking the streets in Purim-costumes.

Carolin Weinkopf, Israel, Purim, Tel Aviv
Beautiful mountains on the way (via iPhone).

Carolin Weinkopf, Israel, Purim, Tel Aviv
Israeli coastline.

Carolin Weinkopf, Israel, Purim, Tel Aviv
Kid with balloons on HaHagana (via iPhone).

Carolin Weinkopf, Israel, Purim, Tel Aviv
Sunset over HaHagana (via iPhone).

Carolin Weinkopf, Israel, Purim, Tel Aviv
The mandarine tree.

Carolin Weinkopf, Israel, Purim, Tel Aviv
Dressed up, excited girl (via iPhone).

All photos: Carolin Weinkopf


BUY PRINTS.
Events.
Exhibitons.
Featured.
Headshots.
Inspirations.
iPhone Diaries.
Macedonia.
Mama Content
Mini-Me.
Morocco.
Nepal.
New York.
Norway.
On the run.
People.
... more
Profil
Logout
Subscribe Weblog